Digital StoryTelling (according to me)

There seems to be a lot of interest out there in the idea of ‘Digital Storytelling’.  As I work in the Education sector I hear lots about learning how to tell digital stories and using them as learning tools.  I am married to one of the most brilliant and talented family therapists on the planet who sometimes talks about the potential for digital storytelling in her work.  Anyone who reads this blog knows that I am not very good at telling stories with words (especially in long – form).  However, for years I have been telling stories through digital images, audio and video.  Here are some examples of my stories and those I like most:

A birthday party I attended over the weekend:
On YouTube
Download (YouTube causes the nice 16:9 gets distorted in some browsers)

The interesting thing about this is how easy and immediate it was.  By the time the birthday boy showed up for work after the weekend, the YouTube video was there for him to reminisce.  The next time we meet up I will hand him the full DVD version as his pressie from our family.

Some of my early digital videos (circa 1991):
On YouTube– note the first steps of my firstborn in "Jamie first two years (1992)"

My song of pain:
This video is my way of telling the story of my pain after a nasty motorcycle accident.

PostSecret:
This RSS Feed brings digital images of postcards on which people share rather intimate stories.

So, there you have it – some of my most recent, oldest, best and favorite digital stories.

Mike Seyfang

About mseyfang

Interruptus Digitalis
This entry was posted in recognitionObject. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

